Header Banner
Download WinWin

How many times has Pakistan won the Asia Cup and what to expect in 2023?

By Ravi - August 26, 2023 - Last updated on Aug 26, 2023 02:53 PM
How many times has Pakistan won the Asia Cup and what to expect in 2023?

Asia Cup 2023

From Pakistan's list and history to schedule and teams, here is everything you need to know about the continental event starting on August 30. The 2023 Asia Cup will be played in Pakistan and Sri Lanka from 30 August to 17 September.

Also Read: Young Cricket Talents to Watch in Asia Cup 2023

Why is Asia Cup 2023 being played in two countries?

While Pakistan will remain the official host of the tournament, the Asia Cup will be held in two different countries for the first time in its history. The tournament will be played in a hybrid model, with Pakistan hosting four and Sri Lanka hosting nine matches. This comes after the BCCI refused to play in Pakistan due to political tensions between the two countries.

How many times will India and Pakistan meet in Asia Cup 2023?

ind vs pak

India and Pakistan will face off in a Group A match at Pallekele on September 2. Provided there is no reversal in the group stage, the two teams will meet again in the Super Four stage. If both India and Pakistan finish in the top two of the Super Four, they will head into a thrilling final - their third encounter in the tournament.


pakistan mens cricket team for asian games 2023 1

The Babar Azam-led side will be the highest-ranked team in the tournament - at number two in the ICC Men's ODI Team Rankings. Pakistan have played eight ODIs this year - all at home and all against New Zealand - and have won five of them. They lost the three-match series 1–2 against the Black Caps in January, but recovered with a 4–1 win against them in May.

Most Successful Team

India is the most successful team in the history of the continental tournament, having won the title seven times. While India took the top honor in 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016 and 2018, Lanka emerged victorious in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014 and 2022. Pakistan has won the title twice (2000, 2012)

Pakistan Squad For Asian Games 2023

Wicketkeepers; Mohammad Akhlaq, Rohail Nazir

Batters; Omair Bin Yousuf, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Mirza Tahir Baig

All-rounders; Qasim Akram (c), Aamer Jamal, Arafat Minhas, Khushdil Shah

Fast bowlers; Arshad Iqbal, Mohammad Hasnain, Shahnawaz Dahani

Spinners; Sufiyan Muqeem, Usman Qadir

Also Read: Chandrayaan 3 Budget Comparison With Famous Movies And Other Moon Missions

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Download WinWin
online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner