Header Banner

Delhi Capitals Women Squad WPL 2023: Full list of players bought In Auction

By Rohit - February 14, 2023 - Last updated on Feb 14, 2023 07:14 PM
Delhi Capitals Women Squad WPL 2023: Full list of players bought In Auction

Image Source:Twitter/ Shefali Verma

In the auction, Delhi Capitals made high bids on Jemimah Rodrigues and Shafali Verma, each exceeding 2CR, while they acquired Meg Lanning for 1.10 CR, Marizanne Kapp for 1.5CR, and Shikha Pandey for 60 lakhs. They utilized their expertise to their advantage as one of the three IPL teams involved, and shifted their focus to Shafali Verma in the Women Premier League after targeting U19 Men's captain Yash Dhull earlier in the IPL auction.

The captain of India's U-19 T20 World Cup-winning team in South Africa was Shafali Verma, who is also the opening partner of Mandhana in the national team and known for her destructive performance at the top of the order. Delhi Capitals made a strong effort to secure her through a winning bid, and her inclusion in the franchise from Rohtak, Haryana will provide a local touch.

Full list of players bought by DC at Women’s Premier League Auction

Player Name Country Age Role Auction Price
Jemimah Rodrigues India 22 Batter Rs 2.2 crore
Meg Lanning Australia 30 Batter Rs 1.1 crore
Shafali Verma India 19 All-rounder Rs 2 crore
Marizanne Kapp SA 33 All-rounder Rs 1.5 crore
Shikha Pandey India 33 Pacer Rs 60 lakh
Radha Yadav India 22 Bowler Rs 40 lakh
Titas Sadhu India 18 Bowler Rs 25 lakh
Alice Capsey England 18 All-Rounder Rs 75 Lakh
Jasia Akhtar India 34 Batter Rs 20 Lakh
Tara Norris USA 24 Bowler Rs 10 Lakh
Minnu Mani India 23 All-rounder Rs 30 Lakh
Laura Harris Australia 32 Batter Rs 45 Lakh
Aparna Mondal India 27 Wicket-Keeper Rs 10 Lakh
Taniyaa Bhatia India 25 Wicketkeeper Rs 30 Lakh
Sneha Deepthi India 26 Batter Rs 30 Lakh
Poonam Yadav India 31 Bowler Rs 30 Lakh
Arundhati Reddy India 25 All-rounder Rs 30 Lakh
Jess Jonassen Australia 30 All-rounder Rs 50 Lakh

Also Read: Top 10 Richest Sports Leagues In The World Now 2023

Purse Remaining: INR 35 lakh

Player strength: 18/18

Overseas players: 6/6

WPL 2023 Teams And Owners captain and amount they're bought in by owners

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently held an auction for the Women's Premier League (WPL) teams and received a significant amount of money. According to the statement, the BCCI received INR 4669.99 crores (Indian Rupees) from the auction. This amount is a testament to the growing popularity and financial potential of women's cricket in India.

Also Read: How to win money from Possible 11

Five teams, representing different cities in India, will be featured in the Women's Premier League. The ownership of these teams has been acquired by different individuals or companies. Here are the specifics of the WPL teams and their owners:

Team Name Owner City Captain Amount
Gujarat Giants Adani Group Ahmedabad TBA INR 1289 Cr
Mumbai Indians Reliance Industries Mumbai TBA INR 912.99 Cr
Royal Challengers Bangalore Diageo Bengaluru TBA INR 901 Cr
Delhi Capitals JSW–GMR Delhi TBA INR 810 Cr
UP Warriorz Capri Global Lucknow TBA INR 757 Cr

WPL 2023 Format

WPL 2023 Format: WPL 2023 will follow the Round Robin format with Group System and Playoffs format. Following are the details of the WPL 2023 Format:

  • All participating(5) teams will play against each other twice which will mark a total of 20 league matches.
  • The topper of the WPL 2023 Points Table will directly qualify for the final.
  • The eliminator match will be played between the 2nd and 3rd placed teams.
  • The winner of the eliminator will qualify as the second finalist for the WPL 2023 final match.

The BCCI has also said March will remain the window for the WPL. From the 2026 season, the WPL could comprise “33-34″ matches but the BCCI has not fleshed out any detail on the tournament structure."

WPL 2023 Rules

The composition of a team will always have a significant impact on the team's overall strength. Teams can secure additional players during the auction event. In the Women's Premier League 2023, the following rules apply:

  • Each team is limited to a maximum of 18 players in their squad.
  • No team can have more than six players from overseas in their roster.
  • A maximum of five overseas players are allowed on a team, with four of them coming from Full Member nations and the fifth from an Associate Member nation.

Also Read: Best Online Cricket Betting Sites In India

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online games
Footer Banner