Header Banner

Captains With Highest Winning Percentage In IPL History

By Ravi - April 5, 2023 - Last updated on Apr 05, 2023 01:45 PM
Captains With Highest Winning Percentage In IPL History

Most 5 Wins As Captain In IPL,Captains With Highest Winning Percentage In IPL History

Captain plays an important role in every cricket match. A captain's decision can make or break the match. The captain takes many decisions like bowling change, fielding change, set batting position, batting or fielding after toss etc. A good captain always takes the blame after losing a game and always gives credit to his teammates after winning a match. And it is also his job to identify the good players and choose the right playing 11. We have seen many captains in IPL but very few have been able to make a mark at the top positions. So we will talk about the captain who won the most matches in IPL history.

Most 5 Captains With Highest Winning IPL History

No.Captain Matches Wins LossDraw No ResultsWin Percentage
1Mahendra Singh Dhoni212124870158.76
2Rohit Sharma144 79614056.25
3Gautam Gambhir12971571055.42
4Virat Kohli14064693448.16
5Adam Gilchrist7435390047.29

Also Read: 5 Funniest Moments In IPL History

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni

ms dhoni

Former Indian and Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni has played the most 212 matches as a captain and won 124 matches with a win percentage of 58.76. Under the captaincy of Dhoni, CSK has worn the crown four times (2010,2011, 2018 and 2021). CSK has played 12 play-offs on the basis of the excellent captaincy of MS Dhoni. So Dhoni has the most number of wins in IPL as captain. which is commendable in itself.

2. Rohit Sharma


Rohit Sharma has been the most successful captain of IPL. He has led Mumbai Indians in 144 matches and has enjoyed victory in 79 matches. Rohit has the second highest winning percentage (56.25) among captains. Mumbai Indians became champions for the first time in 2013 and after that they won it 4 more times (2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020). Fans knew that Rohit is a destructive opener but later he showed his incredible captaincy skills and became the best captain of IPL. And now he is the Indian captain.

3. Gautam Gambhir


Gautam Gambhir has played 129 times as captain for Kolkata Knight Riders and has led his team to victory 71 times with an impressive win percentage of 55.42. KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) has won the IPL twice (2012 and 2014) under Gambhir's captaincy. wore the crown of KKR could not win the trophy for 4 years but finally Gambhir's leadership made a difference and they lifted it for the first time in 2012.

4. Virat Kohli

Virat kohli

Talking of matches, RCB captain Virat Kohli has led RCB in 140 matches and won 64 matches (48.16). But unfortunately, Royal Challengers Bangalore is yet to become the champion of IPL. The most premium batting lineup in the IPL has not been lucky so far. Despite being the highest run-scorer in IPL history (6624), Kohli does not have the IPL crown

5. Adam Gilchrist


Adam Gilchrist has won 35 out of 74 matches as captain. His win percentage (47.29) is commendable. In the second IPL season, Gilchrist led his Deccan Chargers team to the crown of Kings XI Punjab.

While he scored two centuries during his IPL career, you can say that his most memorable innings in the competition came during the semi-finals of the 2009 season.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online games
Footer Banner