Header Ad

Why Angelo Mathews was dismissed before facing a ball: Explained

By Rohit - February 05, 2024 12:57 PM

Image Source: ICC/Cricket world cup 2023

Angelo Mathews came out to bat at number 6 after Sadeera Samarawickrama got out, but he had to go back to the pavilion without facing a single ball because he took too long to sort out a problem with his helmet. This is the first time this has happened in international cricket across all formats.

Shakib Al Hasan dismissed Samarawickrama in the 25th over of Sri Lanka's innings. Mathews walked in slowly and struggled to put on his helmet because the strap broke.

While he was waiting for a new helmet, Shakib and the Bangladesh team appealed for a 'timed out' dismissal, which the umpires upheld. Mathews was very disappointed and argued with the umpires, but they did not change their decision.

What is the rule of ICC for timed out rule in cricket?

40.1.1 After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batter, the incoming batter must, unless Time has been called, be ready to receive the ball, or for the other batter to be ready to receive the next ball within 2 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batter will be out, Timed out.

Also Read: Puneri Paltan Team 2023 Full Updated List: PKL Season 10

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store