Header Banner

WPL 2023: List of WPL Captains and coaches

By Arjit - March 6, 2023 - Last updated on Mar 07, 2023 04:26 PM
WPL 2023: List of WPL Captains and coaches

Image Source: Twitter

The WPL league consists of five teams namely Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Giants and UP Warriors.

Before the start of WPL, all the teams have announced their captains. This time foreign players have been given more preference as captain than Indian players. While Indian players Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana have been selected as captains, Australia's three star players Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning and Beth Mooney will be seen in the role of captains.

All the five players have shown excellent performance at the international level. Now all of them will enter the field as captains in this league. As a player, let's take a look at his statistics at the international level.

Women's Premier League (WPL) 2023 Captains: Harmanpreet Kaur (Mumbai Indians), Smriti Mandhana (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Meg Lanning (Delhi Capitals), Beth Mooney (Gujarat Giants), and Alyssa Healy (UP Warriorz).

List of WPL Captains and coaches

Team Captain Head Coach
Royal Challengers Bangalore Smriti Mandhana Ben Sawyer
Mumbai Indians Harmanpreet Kaur Charlotte Edwards
Delhi Capitals Meg Lanning Jonathan Batty
UP Warriorz Alyssa Healy Jon Lewis
Gujarat Giants Beth Mooney Rachael Haynes

Harmanpreet Kaur - Mumbai Indians (MI W): Harmanpreet Kaur is currently the captain of the Indian women's cricket team. Harmanpreet Kaur is going to captain Mumbai Indians in WPL. Internationally, she is the first player to score more than 3000 runs in T20 format. He has scored 3058 runs in 136 innings of 151 matches for Team India. This includes one century and 10 half-centuries. His highest score in the shortest format of cricket is 103 runs. Harmanpreet Kaur is considered one of the best batsmen of India. Not only in batting but also in bowling, he has taken 32 wickets so far.

Smriti Mandhana - Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Indian cricket team's opening batsman Smriti Mandhana will captain Royal Challengers Bangalore in WPL. As a player in T20 format, he has scored 2802 runs in 112 innings of 116 matches, which includes 22 half-centuries. He scored his highest score of 87 against Ireland in February this year. A total of two half-centuries also came out of her bat in the T20 Women's World Cup.

Alyssa Healy - UP Warriors (UP W): Alyssa Healy, one of Australia's finest players, is set to captain UP Warriors in the WPL. In the T20 World Cup played only last month, Healy scored 189 runs in five matches at an average of 47.25 and a strike rate of 115.95. During this, two half-centuries also came out of his bat. In the T20 format, Healy has scored 2489 runs in 141 matches with the help of one century and 14 half-centuries.

Meg Lanning - Delhi Capitals (DEL W): Australia women's cricket team captain Meg Lanning is going to captain Delhi Capitals in WPL. Lanning has won five World Cup titles at the international level. Apart from being a successful captain, Lanning is also a great player. Meg Lanning's name is also included in the players who have scored more than 3000 runs in T20 format. Along with scoring 3405 runs in 121 innings of 132 matches, he has also taken four wickets in three innings.

Beth Mooney - Gujarat Giants (GG W): Gujarat Giants has handed over the captaincy of the team to Australian batsman Beth Mooney. Mooney recently scored 206 runs in six matches in the T20 World Cup at an average of 51.50 and a strike rate of 117.71. Beth Mooney's record in the T20 format has been impressive. He has scored 2350 runs in 77 innings of 83 matches at an average of 40.51, which includes 2 centuries and 18 half-centuries.

Also Read: MI-W vs RCB-W WPL Dream11 Prediction, Live score and Updates

A total of 26 matches will be played in the Women's Premier League, which runs from March 4 to 26. There will also be two playoff matches. The final match will be played at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner