Header Banner

What is the Lowest Score Recorded in an IPL Final?

By Rohit - May 27, 2024 - Last updated on May 28, 2024 12:14 PM
What is the Lowest Score Recorded in an IPL Final?

Kolkata Knight Riders are celebrating their 3rd IPL trophy after defeating SRH in one sided match

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is renowned for its thrilling matches, nail-biting finishes, and some astonishing cricketing feats. While high-scoring games often steal the spotlight, low-scoring encounters, especially in the high-pressure environment of a final, can be equally captivating.

This article delves into the lowest scores recorded in IPL finals, with a particular focus on the historic low posted by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the 2024 final.

Record-Breaking Performances in IPL Finals

IPL finals have seen their fair share of records, both high and low. The excitement of the final match brings out the best—and sometimes the worst—in teams. Among these records, the performance of Sunrisers Hyderabad stands out, not just for their high scores but also for their unexpected low in the 2024 final.

Lowest Score Match Venue Year
113 SRH vs KKR Chennai 2024
125/9 CSK vs MI Kolkata 2013
128/6 RPS vs MI Hyderabad 2017
129/8 MI vs RPS Hyderabad 2017

Also Read: IPL 2024 Records: Full Breakdown of IPL record breaking season

113 SRH vs KKR Chennai 2024

lowest score in ipl history

The 2024 IPL final, held in Chennai, was anticipated to be a high-octane clash. However, SRH experienced a drastic decline from their usual performance levels, managing only a paltry 113 runs against KKR.

From the very beginning, SRH struggled to find their rhythm. Key batsmen fell cheaply, and KKR's bowlers maintained tight lines and lengths. Despite a few resilient efforts in the middle order, SRH couldn’t recover from the early blows, leading to their unprecedented low total.

125/9 by CSK vs MI (2013)

The 2013 final saw Chennai Super Kings (CSK) being restricted to 125/9 by a formidable Mumbai Indians (MI) bowling attack. Chasing 149, CSK never really got going, highlighting how finals can often produce unexpected outcomes.

128/6 by RPS vs MI (2017)

The 2017 IPL final featured Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) managing only 128/6 against MI. This match turned into a thriller, with MI narrowly clinching victory by just one run, proving that even low-scoring games can be intensely competitive.

129/8 by MI vs RPS (2017)

In the same 2017 final, MI themselves struggled to post a challenging total, ending their innings at 129/8. Despite the low score, their bowlers rose to the occasion, making it one of the most memorable finals in IPL history.

Also Read: Best playing 11 of IPL 2024: From Virat Kohli to Jasprit Bumrah

Why are IPL Finals are having Low Score Matches?

The immense pressure of an IPL final can often lead to batting collapses. Players are aware of the stakes, and this can result in cautious or overly aggressive approaches that backfire.

Pitch conditions, weather, and even crowd support play crucial roles in determining match outcomes. Finals are often played on used pitches that offer more assistance to bowlers, making run-scoring difficult.

Bowlers often emerge as match-winners in low-scoring games. Their ability to exploit conditions and maintain pressure can turn the tide in their team’s favor.

Successful bowling strategies in finals typically include tight line and length, variations in pace, and smart field placements. These tactics have repeatedly proven effective in restricting opposition scores.

Low-scoring finals often generate a buzz on social media, with fans sharing their reactions, creating memes, and engaging in discussions. This adds to the overall excitement and engagement.

Fans remember and cherish the tension and drama of low-scoring finals. These matches often lead to unforgettable moments that are celebrated long after the tournament ends.

Comparing IPL finals to other T20 leagues like the Big Bash or the Caribbean Premier League provides insights into how pressure and conditions affect performances across different tournaments.

Also Read: All IPL final matches and winning teams from 2008 to 2024

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner