Header Banner

Top 10 Unbreakable Records in IPL history

By Ravi - April 8, 2024 - Last updated on Apr 08, 2024 03:46 PM
Top 10 Unbreakable Records in IPL history

Top 10 unbreakable records in IPL history

Every day a new record is made and broken in the history of IPL. While the IPL has a history of breaking records, some achievements in the shortest format of cricket are meant to stand the test of time. The fast pace, intense competition and constantly evolving strategies create some records. These permanent records are such records in the history of IPL which are not only difficult but impossible to break, so we will talk about those records.

  • Most Runs In An IPL Season

  • 10 Consecutive Wins

  • Fastest Century

  • Most Wickets On Debut Match

  • Fastest Fifty

  • Most Hat-Trick

  • Most Catches In A Season

  • Most Number Of Sixes In One Match

  • Most Runs By Batsman In An Over

  • Highest Partnership

10. Highest Partnership


The partnership between Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Gujarat Lions in the 2016 IPL is one of the greatest partnerships in IPL history. Both of them had scored 229 runs, Kohli had scored 109 runs in 55 balls and De Villiers had scored 129 runs in 52 balls. It is very difficult to break this record.

9. Most Runs By Batsman In An Over


The record of scoring most runs in an over in IPL is in the name of Chris Gayle and Ravindra Jadeja. During the IPL 2011 season, in a match between RCB and Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Chris Gayle scored 37 runs in a single over. The over included two no-balls and three consecutive sixes, making it the most expensive over in IPL history.

Ravindra Jadeja repeated the feat against RCB in IPL 2021 when he scored 37 runs in one over from Harshal Patel.

8. Most Number Of Sixes In One Match


Record-breaking sixes were hit during the thrilling match between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Mumbai Indians (MI) in IPL 2024. During this single match, 38 sixes were hit, making it the highest number of sixes hit in IPL history. As happens in any T20 cricket match. The previous record of 33 sixes was achieved in three different matches: RCB vs CSK in 2018, RR vs CSK in 2020, and RCB vs CSK in 2023.

7. Most Catches In A Season

AB de Villiers

In the Indian Premier League (IPL), the record for most catches in a season is held by dynamic South African cricketer AB de Villiers. During the 2016 IPL season, he showcased his fielding ability by taking an impressive 19 catches while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). His agility and safe hands in the field contributed significantly to RCB's campaign that year.

6. Most Hat-Trick

Amit Mishra

A hat-trick in IPL cricket is indeed one of the most coveted achievements for a bowler, epitomizing skill and accuracy. Amit Mishra has taken hat-trick not once but thrice in IPL. He has played for three different franchises in the IPL, Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

5. Fastest Fifty In IPL History

 Yashasvi Jaiswal

The record of scoring the fastest half-century in IPL is in the name of Yashasvi Jaiswal. He scored a half-century in just 13 balls against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2023. Before him, this record was jointly held by KL Rahul and Pat Cummins, both of whom had scored half-centuries in 14 balls.

4. Most Wickets On Debut Match


Facing Sunrisers Hyderabad in their inaugural match, Alzaari Joseph astonishing figures of 6/12 in just 3.4 overs not only secured the win for Mumbai Indians but also etched his name in IPL history. This surpassed Sohail Tanvir's old record figures of 6/14, achieved in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008.

3. Fastest Century

chris gayle

Chris Gayle's memorable achievement in the 2013 IPL season, his explosive innings was achieved in just 30 balls. In the match between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Pune Warriors, Gayle continuously attacked the opposition bowlers and passed the ball across the field with ease. Sent to all corners. His innings, studded with 7 fours and 17 sixes, is an example of the ferocity and fearlessness that has become synonymous with his batting style.

2. 10 Consecutive Wins


Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) holds the record for the longest winning streak in the history of IPL. They had achieved 10 consecutive wins during 2014–15. During this period, Gautam Gambhir's captaincy helped them win the IPL 2014 title. Their winning streak has taken them to the top in the history of IPL.

1. Most Runs In An IPL Season


Virat Kohli has the most runs in a single season in the history of IPL, he scored 973 runs in a single IPL season in the 2016 season of the Indian Premier League. In the 2016 IPL season, Virat scored 973 runs in 16 matches, which included 4 centuries and 7 half-centuries and finished runner-up.

Also Read: IPL 2024: 3 big records achieved during LSG vs GT match

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner