Header Banner

Most Runs as Captain in IPL History

By Ravi - April 5, 2023 - Last updated on Apr 05, 2023 04:24 PM
Most Runs as Captain in IPL History

Most Runs as Captain in IPL History , Most 5 Runs as Captain In Indian Premier League

IPL is one of the biggest sporting events in cricket history. This league full of batting blasts and bowling wizards has become the most popular among the people. IPL has seen some great performances from the captains of their team where the captain really led the team with all his talent and effort. Most of the captains in the history of IPL have also been batsmen. And he has enthralled everyone with his batting. And scored the most runs for his team. who holds the record for scoring the most runs in ipl history

5 Most Runs as Captain in IPL History

1Virat Kohli RCB4810133
2Mahindra Singh Dhoni CSK, RPS4475196
3Gautam Gambhir KKR, DD 3518129
4Rohit SharmaMI, DCH 3251123
5David WarnerDC, SRH293171

Also Read: Top 5 Captains With Most Losses In IPL History

1. Virat Kohli (4810 runs)

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has been one of the most valuable players in IPL history. Apart from scoring the most runs in IPL history, Kohli has also scored the most runs as captain in IPL. His 4810 runs in 133 matches for Royal Challengers Bangalore is the most for any captain in IPL. Kohli has been a core member of RCB since making his IPL captaincy debut in 2011.

The 2016 IPL season saw Virat Kohli batting in great form, scoring 973 runs in the entire season. However, despite his formidable batting prowess, Virat has failed to capture the IPL trophy in the last thirteen years.

2. MS Dhoni (4475 runs)


MS Dhoni has certainly changed the cricket landscape of India. Arguably the best finisher in the world, Dhoni made his IPL debut in 2008 for the Chennai Super Kings. And played for Rising Pune Supergiant for a few seasons. Dhoni has scored 4475 runs in 196 matches as captain in IPL.

Not only this, he is one of the most successful captains of IPL. The veteran captain had led CSK to three titles in 2010, 2011 and 2018.

3. Gautam Gambhir (3518 runs)


Gautam Gambhir has had a successful IPL career as a batsman and captain for Kolkata Knight Riders. After being bought by KKR in IPL 2011, it didn't take long for Kolkata to become champions in 2012, courtesy Gambhir's purposeful captaincy skills. Gautam's aggressive approach proved to be a vital cog in KKR's successful campaigns in both 2012 and 2014.

In 2012, Gambhir scored the most runs by any captain in that IPL season and finished with the most runs (590) after Chris Gayle. In his entire IPL career as a captain, the southpaw scored 3518 runs as a captain in IPL history.

Also Read: Most 5 Unsuccessful Team in IPL History

4. Rohit Sharma (3251 runs)

rohit sharma

Rohit Sharma entered the IPL in 2008 when the Hyderabad-based franchise bought him at a modest auction price. He empowered his team with good innings. Later, in IPL 2011, Mumbai Indians decided to repose faith in Sharma. Which proved right for the team.

Under Rohit's leadership, the team won five editions of the IPL in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. He has been a prolific run-getter for MI. In 123 matches as MI captain, Rohit has scored 3251 runs in IPL. There was never a dearth of runs as a batsman. At crucial junctures in big matches, Rohit has done well

5. David Warner (2931 runs)

David Warner

David Warner In IPL 2014, Sunrisers Hyderabad's bid to pick up the batting dynamo at the auction table proved to be a defining move in IPL history. He was handed over the captaincy duties in 2015 which saw his team perform well over the next few years.

Warner has often shouldered the responsibility of scoring bulk of the runs for his IPL team as captain. Led Hyderabad with runs in the top order. In 71 matches as captain for SRH in IPL 2020, Warner has scored 2931 runs.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online games
Footer Banner