Header Banner

Indian batsman who scored Century in Test debut

By Kaif - July 14, 2023 - Last updated on Jul 14, 2023 12:29 PM
Indian batsman who scored Century in Test debut

Image Source: ICC Web

Young opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, who made his debut in international cricket in Dominica Test match against West Indies, wreaked havoc with the bat. He single-handedly made it historic by playing a century.

Century on Test debut by Indian batsmen

Century on Test debut - India's young left-handed opener Yashasvi Jaiswal on Thursday became the 17th player from the country to score a century on Test debut after reaching the three-figure mark on the second day of the first Test against the West Indies.

Jaiswal, who resumed the second day's play with an unbeaten 40, was cautious, yet positive, during his stay at the crease. He accelerated after the lunch break and completed his century in 215 balls with the help of 11 fours.

The last Indian batsman to score a century on debut was Shreyas Iyer in 2021 against New Zealand at Kanpur. Jaiswal's opening partner Rohit Sharma scored a century on his Test debut in 2013 against the West Indies.

However, Jaiswal is only the seventh Indian batsman and the first in 13 years to score a Test century on debut away from home. Suresh Raina, who scored 120 against Sri Lanka in 2010, is the last Indian batsman to score a century on Test debut outside India.

Also Read: India vs West Indies Scorecard

Indian batsman who scored Century in Test debut

Player Runs Against/Year
1 - Lala Amarnath 118 England (1933)
2 - Deepak Shodhan 110 Pakistan (1952)
3 - A.G.Kripal Singh 100* New Zealand (1955)
4 - Abbas Ali Baig 112 England (1959)
5 - Hanumant Singh 105 England (1964)
6 - Gundappa Viswanath 137 Australia (1969)
7 - Surinder Amarnath 124 New Zealand (1976)
8 - Mohammad Azharuddin 110 England (1984)
9 - Pravin Amre 103 South Africa (1992)
10 - Sourav Ganguly 131 England (1996)
11 - Virender Sehwag 105 South Africa (2001)
12 - Suresh Raina 120 Sri Lanka (2010)
13 - Shikhar Dhawan 187 Australia (2013)
14 - Rohit Sharma 177 West Indies (2013)
15 - Prithvi Shaw 134 West Indies (2018)
16 - Shreyas Iyer 105 New Zealand (2021)
17 - Yashasvi Jaiswal 143* West Indies (2023)

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Schedule, Full List of Teams, Dates, Venues

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online games
Footer Banner