India squad vs nz series announced

By Mehul - November 9, 2021 - Last updated on Dec 12, 2021 12:18 PM India squad vs nz series announced

Image Source: Twitter

Rohit Sharma to lead India, KL Rahul named vice-captain as BCCI announces squad for NZ series

The BCCI has announced Indias 15-man squad for the upcoming home series against New Zealand. Rohit Sharma was named as Indias new T20I captain for the series against New Zealand.

Kohli has been rested for the first Test against New Zealand to be played at Green Park in Kanpur from November 25-29.

With Virat Kohlis tenure as Indias T20I captain coming to an end with Men in Blues exit from the T20 World Cup 2021, Rohit Sharma was named as Indias new T20I captain for the series.

Rohit Sharma, The new captain

Rohit Sharma, who has won five IPL titles while leading the Mumbai Indians, was the front-runner to replace Kohli as Indias T20I captain. Rohits first assignment as Indias full-time T20I captain will be the upcoming series against New Zealand - where the two teams will play three T20 internationals and two Tests.

After Indias win over Namibia, Kohli had hinted that Sharma would succeed him as Indias T20I captain. "Thats never going to change. If I cant do that I will not play anymore. Even when I wasnt captain before I was always keen to see where the game is going. Im not going to stand around and do nothing," Kohli said during the presentation ceremony after Indias facile nine-wicket win in their last match at the T20 World Cup

On winning his last match, Kohli said he felt a sense of relief and added that this was the right time to quit captaincy so that he can manage his workload properly. "As I said its been an honor, but things have to be kept in the right perspective. This was the right time for me to manage my workload. Its been six-seven years of intense cricket every time we take the field and it takes a lot out of you. Its been great fun, great bunch of guys and weve really performed well as a team," Kohli said

Rahul Dravid, The new Head Coach

Apart from the new captain, India will also be having the services of Rahul Dravid as the head coach of the team.

Batting legend and former captain Rahul Dravid was on Wednesday officially appointed as the new head coach of the Indian cricket team, the BCCI announced. Dravid will take over the new role and will begin his tenure as Indias full-time coach from the homes series against New Zealand starting November 17.

After ending his association with the Royals, the former middle-order batter took charge as the head coach of the India U-19 and India A teams. Dravid made immense progress in his maiden stint as U-19 coach as the team stood runners-up in the ICC Under-19 World Cup in 2016. It was the first time talents such as Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan and Washington Sundar were unearthed.

India’s T20I squad for New Zealand series:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner