Header Banner

How Many Super Over Has Been Played in IPL History? IPL Super Over

By Rohit - April 19, 2024 - Last updated on Apr 20, 2024 05:57 PM
How Many Super Over Has Been Played in IPL History? IPL Super Over

IPL, super over, last ball thriller, tied match, super over win, most super overs in IPL,

The IPL has become synonymous with nail-biting finishes, where the outcome hangs in the balance until the very last ball. Some matches have even defied the odds, ending in a tie and requiring a super over to separate the teams. These super overs have carved their niche in IPL history, producing some of the most dramatic cricketing moments ever witnessed.

We've seen last-ball thrillers that leave fans breathless, along with incredible batting and bowling displays that defy belief. From the highest run chase ever witnessed in a super over, to bowlers who have emerged as super over specialists with their nerves of steel and pinpoint accuracy, the IPL's super over records stand as a testament to the high-pressure, exciting nature of the tournament.

Ties are a rare occurrence in the IPL, but when they do happen, they set the stage for an epic Super Over showdown. The first of these nail-biting encounters occurred in 2009, with Rajasthan Royals edging past Kolkata Knight Riders. Since then, several other teams have tasted victory and defeat in the pressure cooker of the Super Over.

Also Read: What is DLS Method In Cricket & How It Is Calculated? Know All About it

We've witnessed batting brilliance like AB de Villiers' last-ball sixes for Royal Challengers Bangalore and Yusuf Pathan's demolition of Chennai Super Kings' bowling. Bowling heroes like Jasprit Bumrah and Kagiso Rabada have also emerged, showcasing their nerve under immense pressure.

The 2020 season was particularly dramatic, with a record four Super Overs, including the first-ever instance of a double Super Over between Mumbai Indians and Punjab Kings.

With the IPL 2024 season approaching, fans can eagerly anticipate more such heart-stopping moments as teams battle it out for supremacy.

List of IPL Super Overs: in history of Indian Premier League from 2008 to current season

Season Match Winner Tie Score Man of the Match
IPL 2009 KKR vs RR Rajasthan Royals 150 Yusuf Pathan
IPL 2010 CSK vs KXIP Kings XI Punjab 136 Rusty Theron (South Africa)
IPL 2013 SRH vs RCB Sunrisers Hyderabad 130 Hanuma Vihari
IPL 2013 RCB vs DD Royal Challengers Bangalore 152 Virat Kohli
IPL 2014 KKR vs RR Rajasthan Royals 152 James Faulkner (Australia)
IPL 2015 RR vs KXIP Kings XI Punjab 191 Shaun Marsh
IPL 2017 GL vs MI Mumbai Indians 153 Krunal Pandya
IPL 2019 DC vs KKR Delhi Capitals 185 Prithvi Shaw
IPL 2019 MI vs SRH Mumbai Indians 153 Jasprit Bumrah
IPL 2020 DC vs KXIP Delhi Capitals 157 Marcus Stoinis
IPL 2020 RCB vs MI Royal Challengers Bangalore 201 AB de Villiers
IPL 2020 SRH vs KKR Kolkata Knight Riders 163 Lachie Ferguson (New Zealand)
IPL 2020 (Double Super Over) MI vs KXIP Kings XI Punjab 176 Lokesh Rahul
IPL 2021 SRH vs DC Delhi Capitals 159 Prithvi Shaw

Super Over Rules in detail in points

In limited-overs cricket formats like One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is), a Super Over comes into play when the scores are level after both teams have completed their allocated overs (50 in ODIs, 20 in T20Is). This exciting tie-breaker format determines the winner through a single, additional over.

  • Start Time: The Super Over begins 10 minutes after the conclusion of the second innings. This allows time for the ground staff to prepare the pitch and for both teams to strategize.
  • Batting Order: The team that batted second in the regular match gets to bat first in the Super Over. This is because they didn't have the opportunity to chase down a specific target set by the opposition.
  • Playing Surface: The Super Over is played on the same pitch used throughout the entire match. This ensures consistency in terms of bounce, pace, and wear and tear on the wicket.
  • Umpire Positions: The umpires remain at the same ends of the pitch they were stationed for the final over of the regular match. This maintains familiarity and ensures a smooth transition.
  • Fielding Side's Choice: The team fielding in the Super Over gets to choose the end they want to bowl from. This allows them to strategize based on factors like wind direction, sun position, and potential swing or seam movement.
  • Fielding Restrictions: The fielding restrictions in the Super Over are identical to those in the final over of the regular innings. This maintains a sense of balance and consistency in terms of run-scoring opportunities.
  • Players in the Super Over: Each team nominates three batsmen (allowing for two dismissals) and one bowler to participate in the Super Over. This condensed format puts immense pressure on both the batters to score quickly and the bowler to restrict runs.
  • Multiple Super Overs: If the Super Over also ends in a tie, then a second Super Over will be played. This process continues until a winner is determined through a higher score in a subsequent Super Over. However, there's a stipulated time constraint to ensure the match doesn't extend excessively.

In essence, the Super Over is a high-pressure, one-over shootout designed to break a tie in the most exciting way possible. The rules are crafted to ensure fairness, maintain the character of the final over, and ultimately, deliver a thrilling conclusion to a close match.

Also Read: Top 5 Most Dramatic Super Over in IPL

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How a team wins the Super Over?

Scoring more runs: Out-scoring the opponent in their 6-ball batting stint, and Fielding first and holding the opponent to a lower score than they manage to bat.

How many wicket are allowed to a team in super over?

Each team has two wickets available in the Super Over. This means they can lose a maximum of two batsmen before their innings is over.

What will happen if a Super Over ends in a tie?

If there's enough time remaining in the overall match timeframe, the rules dictate that a second Super Over will be played. This process of playing subsequent Super Overs continues until a winner emerges through a higher score in one of these additional overs.

Which team will bat first in 2nd Super Over?

After the first Super Over, if the scores are still tied and there's time for more, the batting order alternates. The team that batted first in the first Super Over will bat second in the following Super Over, and vice versa.

Can teams use DRS (Decision Review System) in the Super Over?

Yes Both teams get a single opportunity to utilize DRS during the Super Over to challenge an umpire's call.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner