Header Banner

BCCI announces India squad for ODI series against South Africa.

By Kaif - January 1, 2022 - Last updated on Jan 01, 2022 11:39 AM BCCI announces India squad for ODI series against South Africa.

KL Rahul has been named as captain for the ODI series as Rohit Sharma is ruled out owing to an injury

The Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI)

The Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) on Friday announced Indias squad for three ODI series against South Africa. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named KL Rahul as Captain for the ODI series as Rohit Sharma is ruled out owing to an injury.

Rohit, who replaced Virat Kohli as Indias skipper earlier this month, picked up a hamstring injury during a training session in Mumbai ahead of the South Africa tour.

Also Read: IND vs SA ODI Series Dream11 prediction

Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah will be vice-captain for the series. Fast bowler Mohammed Shami has been rested while Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja remain unfit.The ODI series begins on January 19 after the test series in which India leads 1-0. The second test begins on January 3.

Ruturaj Gaikwad

Ruturaj Gaikwad has been rewarded for his sensational run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy this season where he smashed four centuries in five matches. Overall, he amassed 603 runs at an unbelievable average of 150.75 and the highest score of 168. However, it remains to be seen if he will get a chance as Shikhar Dhawan, who led India’s depleted squad in Sri Lanka in July 2021, has also been picked.

Venkatesh Iyer

Venkatesh Iyer’s rise in international cricket continues as he has been handed his maiden ODI call-up. He fared decently in the T20I series at home against New Zealand and was also extremely impressive in the Vijay Hazare Trophy playing for Madhya Pradesh. He scored 379 runs in six matches at an average of 63.16 and a strike rate of 133.92. Iyer scored two centuries and a fifty with his best score being 151.

Washington Sundar

Washington Sundar has a comeback after a long injury layoff. At the same time, Ishan Kishan has been retained after being picked for the Sri Lanka ODIs. The three-match ODI series is set to commence on January 19 at Boland Park in Paarl. The same venue will host the second ODI on January 21

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: will be held in Pakistan, will Team India be involved?

India squad for South Africa ODIs

TEAM: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj

Also Read: Quinton de Kock announces retirement from Test cricket

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner