Header Ad

Who will be the new PM of Pakistan? Which party won the elections in Pakistan?

By Kaif - February 15, 2024 05:23 PM

Before the general election voting in Pakistan on February 8, it was being said that Nawaz Sharif, who returned to the country after exile in London, would easily win and become the Prime Minister of Pakistan for the fourth time. Nawaz Sharif had huge support from the army but the results of the elections changed the situation. Every effort to keep Imran Khan's party PTI away from the elections proved unsuccessful and the independent candidates contesting with the party's support have secured the maximum number of seats in the general elections.

Which party won the elections in Pakistan?

  • PTI (Imran) - 93 seats
  • PML (Nawaz) - 75 seats
  • PPP (Bilawal Bhutto) – 54 seats
  • MQM - 17 seats
  • Jamiat Ulema e Islam – 4 seats

The way the Army had brought Nawaz Sharif back to the country, it was expected that PML (N) would get majority. Nawaz will again become the PM of Pakistan and will run the country as a puppet in the hands of the army. But this could not happen.


The public showed tremendous enthusiasm in support of Imran and PTI has emerged as the largest party. Imran Khan's candidates have also made allegations of rigging during the elections. On the day of election and counting of votes, many videos went viral on social media in which incidents related to violence at polling stations, damage to ballot boxes and tearing of ballot papers.

At present the situation regarding whose government will be formed in Pakistan is not clear. According to the Constitution of Pakistan, it is necessary to form the government within 21 days of the elections. This period of three weeks is ending on 29th February.

At present the picture is not clear regarding the formation of government in Pakistan, but speculations are being made that such equations can be formed-

Who will be the new PM of Pakistan?

It is about to be a week after the general elections in Pakistan, but suspense still remains on the post of Prime Minister. Meanwhile, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan has made a big move. He has declared Omar Ayub as the PM candidate. Let us tell you that before this, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN), which emerged as the second largest party in the elections, has put forward the name of Shahbaz Sharif for the post of PM.

Party leader Asad Qaiser has discussed this matter with Imran Khan, lodged in Adiala jail. Asad Qaiser said that party general secretary Omar Ayub would be the party's candidate for the post of prime minister. He further said that Imran will also announce the date for a nationwide protest campaign against rigging in the elections held on February 8.

Also Read: What is MSP? What are the farmers demanding regarding MSP Minimum Support Price?

PPP and PMLN will form government together

Bilawal Bhutto's Pakistan People's Party (PPP) has announced its support to PMLN. Bilawal Bhutto had said that his party has not got the mandate, hence it will not claim the post of PM. Bilawal had said that his party will support the PMLN government, but will not join it.

Who will be the next President of Pakistan?

PPP chief Bilawal Bhutto has expressed his desire for the presidency for his father Asif Ali Zardari. Zardari was the President from 2008 to 2013. He was the 11th President of Pakistan. Let us tell you that the tenure of the current President Arif Alvi has been completed. Bilawal had recently said that she has not expressed her desire to make Asif Ali Zardari the President because he is her son, but she and PPP believe that Zardari can play a better role in the situation the country is going through.

Also Read: Why farmers protesting again, What are the farmers demands?

Download Our App for better expeirience

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 Apple Store

About the Author:


Moh. Kaif Anshari