Header Banner

World Cup 2023: India defeats New Zealand by 4 wickets

By Akanksha - October 22, 2023 - Last updated on Oct 25, 2023 10:29 PM
World Cup 2023: India defeats New Zealand by 4 wickets

On Sunday in Dharamsala, India overcame New Zealand by four wickets to maintain its unbeaten streak in the current World Cup. This victory helped the hosts move up to the top spot in the ten-team points table since it was India's sixth triumph in the same number of games.

India defeats New Zealand

India got off to a good start in their 274-run chase against New Zealand in the ongoing World Cup 2023 match on Sunday in Dharamsala thanks to Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill. Before Lockie Ferguson bowled Rohit out for 46(40), the partnership accumulated 71 runs for the first wicket. They primarily dealt in boundaries. The pacemaker quickly got rid of Gill for 26(31). Before Trent Boult removed Shreyas Iyer for 33(29), Virat Kohli and Iyer had combined 52 runs for the third wicket.

Then KL Rahul entered the fray, adding to Kohli's 50+ stand before being dismissed by Mitchell Santner for 27(35). As a result of a mix-up with Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, who is playing in his first World Cup, was also unable to contribute much. While all is happening, Kohli, who has already reached his half-century, stays steadfast at one end.

Haze and poor sight caused a brief halt in the action in the meanwhile.

Match Highlights

Ravindra and Mitchell made India feel the heat in the cold surroundings of Dharamsala as India stifled New Zealand for runs in the first 10 overs after Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl first. Due to Hardik Pandya's injury and Shardul Thakur's removal, there was no sixth seamer available, which was felt acutely by the hitters as they thoroughly outplayed spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja.

In contrast to how the first 10 overs went, Kuldeep ultimately let up 32 runs in his first three overs. In the opening 10 overs, the Indian seamers were persistent, and Mohammed Shami eventually dismissed Will Young with his first ball of the game within that time.

Jadeja, a spinner who bowled 10 consecutive overs and finished with statistics of 0/48, was obliged to bowl all of India's allotted overs in the first 30 overs alone. When Bumrah dropped Mitchell at the boundary and the ball sailed over for four, the partnership between Ravindra and Mitchell eventually surpassed 150.

When Shami dismissed Ravindra for 75 off 87 balls in the 34th over, India's suffering was finally over. Tom Latham, the captain of New Zealand, was eventually bowled by Kuldeep, but Mitchell persisted. Finally, he reached his sixth ODI century. New Zealand was subsequently dismissed for 273 runs when the Indians fought back.

Mohammed Shami's five-wicket haul

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami took 5-54 to help India bowl out New Zealand for 273, a score India beat with 12 balls to spare at Dharamsala.

This was India's sixth win in the same number of matches, a result that sent the hosts to the top of the ten-team points table. The Kiwis suffered their first loss in five matches and are now second in the 10-team standings, trailing leaders India.

Shubman Gill Creates History

During India's World Cup match against New Zealand on Sunday, Shubman Gill became the fastest player in ODI history to achieve 2000 runs. Gill broke the record of South African Hashim Amla, who required 40 innings to achieve 2000 ODI runs.

The 24-year-old Indian, who struck 53 against Bangladesh in his previous game, was 14 runs shy of reaching the century mark going into the contest. When he smacked Trent Boult for a boundary in the seventh over of the Indian run chase, he accomplished the goal.

Gill, on the other hand, was out in the 14th over for 26 from 31 balls, with Lockie Ferguson collecting his wicket.


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young

Also Read: World Cup 2023: South Africa defeats England by 229 runs

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner