Header Banner

Top Five Best captains of Indian Premier League History

By Akanksha - December 16, 2023 - Last updated on Dec 16, 2023 04:04 PM
Top Five Best captains of Indian Premier League History

Dozens of clubs and hundreds of players have competed in the 16-year Indian Premier League. However, very few people have ever known the glory of winning the IPL Trophy. The majority of IPL franchise owners pay top dollar for players and assemble teams full of the world's top cricket players.

Every IPL team has a roster full of incredibly gifted and talented players, as you can see by looking at each one. Athletes who have achieved success in domestic cricket and are youthful and driven also participate in the IPL. Additionally, each team has a living great who is a hall-of-fame cricket player who serves as the coach or mentor in many situations. Franchise owners create their teams by spending crores at each IPL auction

However, it has frequently been seen that IPL winners in the past or even the reigning champions had difficulty in the next season. Indian Premier League T20 cricket is a very unpredictable format that puts a lot of strain on bowlers and batsmen alike.

In test cricket, it may have a significant impact on a player's attitude when they get struck for consecutive sixes when bowling maiden overs. In the Indian Premier League, players frequently act rashly in an attempt to increase their run total or wicket total. Because of this, they could perform poorly and the team as a whole might lose.

Among the playing 11 teams, the captain of a cricket team is the most significant player; in the Indian Premier League, however, his importance is heightened. A competent captain can steer the group to capitalize on its advantages and minimize its disadvantages.

During the game, all of the preparation, tactics, and strategies are rendered ineffective, and the players' efforts and the captain's leadership are what count. Wins come from skilful play and decision-making, and the team captain is responsible for both of those things.

Top Five Best Indian Premier League Captains

In light of that, we present to you this blog featuring the most prosperous and victorious captains in IPL history.

Top IPL captains based on win percentage

Position Player Span Mat Overall Win %
5 Shane Warne (RR) 2008-2011 55 54.55
4 Gautam Gambhir (DC/KKR) 2009-2018 129 55.42
3 Sachin Tendulkar (MI) 2008-2011 51 55.82
2 Rohit Sharma (MI) 2013-2023 158 56.25
1 MS Dhoni (CSK/RPS) 2008-2023 225 59.18

5. Shane Warne

Shane Warne

Image Source: Twitter

Shane Warne was an important member of the Rajasthan Royals team in the first-ever IPL (2008) as captain. In the 2008 Indian Premier League, Warne, one of the tournament's underdog teams, guided the Jaipur-based side to victory.

He finally used his knowledge to help a group of young guys win the IPL championship in 2008 after being able to see the potential in the young players. In addition to serving as the club's captain, he also led the Rajasthan cricket team and served as an assistant coach and mentor. With a 54.55 win percentage in the 55 games he participated in as captain throughout the IPL season, he guided his club to victory in 30 of them.

4. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir

Image Source: Twitter

Gautam Gambhir has demonstrated his leadership abilities in both international cricket and the Indian T20 league. Gautam Gambhir is the third most successful IPL captain ever, having won 71 of the 129 matches he commanded. Gambhir led the Kolkata Knight Riders to victories in 2012 and 2014. He also spent several seasons as the Delhi Capitals' team captain.

3. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar

Image Source: Twitter

Despite being a renowned cricketer from India, Sachin Tendulkar has a lacklustre record as a national team leader. Although he governed India in the latter part of the 1990s, he was not very successful.

He did, however, fare better in the Indian Premier League while leading the Mumbai Indians. He led MI to the 2010 edition final, where they were defeated by CSK. With a victory percentage of 55.82, he led the club in 30 of its 51 games as captain. Later, he gave Rohit Sharma the skipper, and Sharma carried on MI's tradition.

2. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma

Image Source: Twitter

Rohit Sharma is unquestionably one of the greatest captains in tournament history, having led his team to five IPL victories in just nine years. As a skipper, he leads the league with a winning percentage. He had captaincy over the squad in 158 IPL games overall, with 79 of those games ending in victories. Mumbai's winning campaigns in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020 were led by Rohit as captain.

1. MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni 7

Image Source: Twitter

The only player who led a team in the 2008 edition and is still in that position is MS Dhoni. As captain of CSK in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2021, and 2023, he helped the team win four IPL trophies. Dhoni's winning percentage is at 59.18 after he commanded 225 matches overall, winning 133 of them, excluding the three seasons between 2020 and 2022. Throughout every season, he guided his club to the IPL postseason. In addition, he has the record for captaining the most IPL games played.

Also Read: Dream 11 Predictions for all matches of Tamilnadu Premier League

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner