Header Banner

Top 10 Most expensive Player in IPL History

By Vipin - December 19, 2023 - Last updated on Dec 19, 2023 05:21 PM
Top 10 Most expensive Player in IPL History

The Indian Premier League is dubbed as the cash rich league as there is a lot of money involved with players, the very finest and some relatively unknown, earning some big bucks either at the auction or via player retention and drafts.

Over the years, the auction has seen the owners or team officials get into a bidding war for the players they think will get them the best results. We have witnessed this on multiple occasions for multiple players and sometimes the same player in different seasons.

While some players like England's Sam Curran and Australia's Cameron Green had hit the jackpot in the auctions, some big name Indian players like Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rohit Sharma have earned top dollar with franchises keen on retaining their star players. Pat Cummins became the most expensive and highest paid player in IPL history during the IPL 2024 auction after Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore to the Australia captain's signing at the price of Rs 20.50 Crore.

However, that record lasted for less than an hour as his compatriot Mitchell Starc smashed the record for most expensive player in IPL auction history after Kolkata Knight Riders splashed a whopping Rs 24.75 Crore in the 2024 auction to bag the Aussie pace spearhead, beating off the bidding war with Gujarat Titans.


The first ever IPL auction was held in 2008, but the recent seasons have seen players become expensive buys or expensive retentions as franchises look to break the bank to build title-winning teams. A few players like Ben Stokes and Cummins have fetched huge price at different auction, while some have been surprise names. Here is a list of the top 25 most expensive players in IPL History (including auction buys and pre-auction retentions).

Highest Paid Players in IPL History All Time

Player Price in INR Team Year
Mitchell Starc Kolkata Knight Riders 24.75 2024
Pat Cummins Sunrisers Hyderabad 20.50 2024
Sam Curran Punjab Kings 18.50 2023
Cameron Green Mumbai Indians 17.50 2023
Ben Stokes Chennai Super Kings 16.25 2023
Chris Morris Rajasthan Royals 16.25 2021
Nicolas Pooran Lucknow Super Giants 16.00 2023
Yuvraj Singh Delhi Daredevils 16.00 2015
Pat Cummins Kolkata Knight Riders 15.50 2020
Ishan Kishan Mumbai Indians 15.25 2022

Also Read: How to watch IPL auction live free on Mobile

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner