Header Banner

The Six Centurions in World Cup Finals

By Guest - September 21, 2023 - Last updated on Sep 21, 2023 05:38 PM
The Six Centurions in World Cup Finals

A hundred in a World Cup final is an outstanding achievement. Every batter aspires to play a big knock under pressure and lift teammates in the biggest white-ball event. Let us look at six players who scored in a World Cup final.

Who will score the most centuries in the 2023 World Cup? Put your predictions to the test in an ODI World Cup betting platform and get rewarded in abundance during the biggest 50-over event in India.

The Centurions in World Cup finals

From the 1975 to 2019 World Cup, there have been 12 World Cup finals. Australia has played in a record seven finals and has two players who hit a hundred in a World Cup final. Meanwhile, West Indies and Sri Lanka have two batters each who produced a terrific knock under pressure.

Players who scored a century in a World Cup Final:

  1. Mahela Jayawardene - 103 (88 balls) vs India (2011 World Cup)
  2. Adam Gilchrist - 149 (104 balls) vs Sri Lanka (2007 World Cup)
  3. Ricky Ponting - 140* (121 balls) vs India (2003 World Cup)
  4. Aravinda de Silva - 107* (124 balls) vs Australia (1996 World Cup)
  5. Viv Richards - 138* (!57 balls) vs England (1979 World Cup)
  6. Clive Lloyd - 102 (85 balls) vs Australia (1975 World Cup)
  • Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)

    Among the six players on the list, Mahela Jayawardene is the only unluckiest player, as, despite his hundred, Sri Lanka lost the 2011 World Cup final at Wankhede. The former Sri Lanka captain struck a brilliant 103 to steer Sri Lanka 274, which hosts India chased down with ten balls to spare.

    Some of the finest T20 cricketers will take the field in the 13th edition of BBL. Find out the complete BBL schedule, venues, and timings of the upcoming BBL season.

  • Adam Gilchrist (Australia)

    An innings that saw 13 sixes and eight sixes is the highest individual score in a World Cup final. Adam Gilchrist hit the Sri Lankan bowlers to all parts of Kensington Oval in the 2007 World Cup title clash. Though he fell one short of a 150, the damage was done. Australia won the final via the DLS method.

  • Ricky Ponting (Australia)

    In a one-sided World Cup final, Ricky Ponting went haywire at Wanderers Stadium. The Punter produced an innings of remarkable quality to steer Australia to the highest-ever score in a World Cup final. He remained unbeaten on 140, slamming eight sixes and helping his team reach a mammoth, which India failed to chase down.

  • Aravinda De Silva (Sri Lanka)

    In the 1996 World Cup final, Aravinda De Silva came to the crease when the Lankans were reduced to 23/2 chasing 242. The right-handed batter slowly built his innings, stitching together a century partnership with Asanka Gurusinha. De Silva was solid despite losing his partner and brought up his century. He comfortably steered Sri Lanka to their first World Cup title.

  • Viv Richards (West Indies)

    No cricketer had the swag and style of Vivan Richards in the 70s and 80s. The legendary West Indies batter was at his destructive best against England in the 1979 World Cup final at Lord's. Batting first, West Indies had lost four wickets with just 99 on the board. However, Richards took on the English bowlers and made 138* off 157 balls. West Indies, who posted 286, won the final by 92 runs.

  • Clive Lloyd (West Indies)

    Came to bat at No. 5, Clive Lloyd struck one of the fastest hundreds in a World Cup final. He led from the front to help West Indies, who had lost three wickets for 50 runs, post a challenging total of 291 in 60 overs against Australia. Lloyd dealt in boundaries as he struck 12 fours and two sixes. West Indies became the maiden ODI World Cup winners after a 17-run win at Lord's.

It is worth adding that Indian duo Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni, Australia's Damien Martyn, Caribbean batter Collis King, etc., have come close to scoring a hundred in a World Cup final.

Concluding Thoughts

These are some of the big batters who stood up to the pressure and went on to make a name for themselves on the big stage. However, interestingly enough, none of these batters were rookies. Most of these players had already established themselves in international cricket and showed how to take pressure and perform when it mattered.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

When can I place a bet on cricket world cup?

For market bets, you can place bets even before the tournament starts. For fancy bets & straight bets, you can bet during the matches. It's better do place bet once the confirm lineup announced.

For ODI cricket world cup online betting, sportsbook is better or exchange is better?

Both are good options to bet on cricket world cup. It is completely based on your preference. To your advantage, both these options are available on Yolo247. Check out sportsbook and exchange for cricket world cup betting on Yolo247 & find what suits you.

When is the ICC World Cup 2023 starting?

It starts on Thu, 5 Oct, 2023 and ends on Sun, 19 Nov, 2023.

Where will World Cup 2023 start?

The World Cup 13th edition is scheduled to be hosted by India (Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad) from 5 October to 19 November 2023. It was originally scheduled to take place from February to March 2023.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner