Header Banner

History of One Day International Cricket World Cup

By Afiur - January 14, 2021 - Last updated on Jan 04, 2024 04:06 PM
History of One Day International Cricket World Cup

History of One Day Cricket World Cup

International organization:

Here we present the history of One Day Cricket World Cup. The Cricket World Cup Whicch is officially known as ICC Men's Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket.

The event is organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years, with prelimiinary qualifications rounds leading upto it's final tournament.

The tournament is one of the world's most viewed sporting events and is considered the "flagship event of the international cricket calendar" by the ICC.

Qualification Procedure

From the first World Cup in 1975 up to the 2019 World Cup, the majority of teams taking part qualified automatically. Until the 2015 World Cup this was mostly through having Full Membership of the ICC, and for the 2019 World Cup this was mostly through ranking position in the ICC ODI Championship.

Since the second World Cup in 1979 up to the 2019 World Cup, the teams that qualified automatically were joined by a small number of others who qualified for the World Cup through the qualification process. The first qualifying tournament being the ICC Trophy; Later the process expanding with pre-qualifying tournaments. For the 2011 World Cup, the ICC World Cricket League replaced the past pre-qualifying processes; and the name "ICC Trophy" was changed to "ICC World Cup Qualifier". The World Cricket League was the qualification system provided to allow the Associate and Affiliate members of the ICC more opportunities to qualify. The number of teams qualifying varied throughout the years.First One Day World Cup:

Cricket World Cup was contested for the first time in England in 1975. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987. The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50.

Significant Events in ODI World Cup Cricket:

Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments. There are 12 World Cup tournaments being held till date. Australia is the most success country which won 5 World Cups. India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the world cup 2 times each. India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. The last world Cup held in 2019 was won by England.

Upcoming Cricket World Cup: India

The 2023 Men's ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, scheduled to be hosted by India during October and November 2023. This will be the first time the competition is held completely in India. Three previous editions were partially hosted there – 1987, 1996, and 2011. Originally, the tournament was scheduled to be played from 9 February to 26 March 2023, but in July 2020, the dates were moved to October and November 2023, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


Previous World Cup Champions

England Was the Winner of 2019 WC:

The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup was the 12th Cricket World Cup, a quadrennial One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament contested by men's national teams and organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was hosted between 30 May to 14 July across 10 venues in England and a single venue in Wales with the tournament being the fifth time that England had hosted the World Cup while for Wales it was their third.


List of Cricket World Cup Winners:

YearHostWinnerRunner upResult
1975EnglandWest Indies AustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979England West IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983England India West IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987India and Pakistan Australia EnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan EnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and India Sri Lanka AustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999England Australia PakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia IndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia Sri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland New ZealandMatch tied after regular play and super over, finally England won on boundary count
2023 India - - -

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner