Asia Cup 2022 schedule announced: India will face Pakistan on 28 August

By Kaif - August 2, 2022 - Last updated on Aug 02, 2022 05:52 PM Asia Cup 2022 schedule announced: India will face Pakistan on 28 August

Asia Cup 2022 schedule announced: India will face Pakistan on 28 August, Asia Cup 2022 Schedule, Date, Time, and Venue

Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022 schedule has been released. BCCI Secretary and Asian Cricket Council President Jay Shah have released the complete schedule on social media. Indias first match is against Pakistan in this tournament starting on August 27. Both these teams have been placed in Group A. There are a total of three teams in Group A, apart from India and Pakistan, the team winning the qualification round will make it to this group. Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh have been placed in Group B.

The Asia Cup is scheduled to be played from August 27 to September 11 and will be played in the T20 format. The tournament, which started in 1984, was played in the 50-over format till 2014. Then in 2016 due to T20 World Cup was played in T20 format.

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule, Date, Time and Venue

asia cup 2022 schedule announced india will face pakistan on 28 august 1

Image Source: Asian Cricket Council

Asia Cup to be held in UAE

This time the Asia Cup will be organized in the UAE. Earlier Sri Lanka had got the hosting of this tournament, but due to the deteriorating situation there, now UAE has got the hosting of this tournament. Teams of India and Pakistan do not want to play each others place. In such a situation, apart from the UAE, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh were the only contenders for hosting and Sri Lanka was given the hosting of this tournament. After snatching this tournament from Sri Lanka, UAE got its host.

Which Is the Most Successful Team In Asia Cup?

The Indian team has so far participated in 13 editions of the tournament and has emerged as the most champions seven times. Apart from this, the team was also runner-up three times. Sri Lanka is in second place. Sri Lankan team has been champion five times and runner-up six times. Pakistans team has won this title twice and twice it has been runner-up. Next year again this tournament will return to the ODI format.

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 To 2022

YearsWinner NameRunner-up NameHost Country
1984IndiaSri LankaUAE
1986Sri LankaPakistanSri Lanka
1988IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1990/91IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1995IndiaSri LankaUAE
1997Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2000PakistanSri LankaBangladesh
2004Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2008Sri LankaIndiaPakistan
2010IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaPakistanBangladesh

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner