South Africa Women opt to bowl against unchanged India, Luus misses out because of illness

Laura Wolvaardt leads South Africa in Luus' absence as the visitors make four changes in all with Trisha Chetty also injured

South Africa chose to bowl vs India

Standing-in for the ill Sune Luus, Laura Wolvaardt won the toss and opted to bowl in the third ODI against India Women in Lucknow. This is in keeping with the trend through the first two matches of the series, where the Ekana pitch offered considerable assistance to the seamers in the first hour or so, before settling into a batting beauty in the second part of the matches.

In all, South Africa made four changes to their XI. Apart from Luus, wicketkeeper-batter Trisha Chetty missed out because of an injury and was replaced by Sinalo Jafta. Top-order batter Anne Bosch, offspinning-allrounder Nondumiso Shangase and seamer Tumi Sekhukhune also made their way into the side, with Nadine de Klerk and Nonkhululako Mlaba missing out. India are unchanged from the second ODI.

Both games thus far have followed an identical pattern, with the South Africans winning comfortably after bowling first in the first ODI, before India paid them back in the same coin in the second game.


1 Jemimah Rodrigues, 2 Smriti Mandhana, 3 Punam Raut, 4 Mithali Raj (capt), 5 Harmanpreet Kaur, 6 Deepti Sharma, 7 Sushma Verma (wk), 8 Jhulan Goswami, 9 Rajeshwari Gayakwad, 10 Mansi Joshi, 11 Poonam Yadav

South Africa:

1 Laura Wolvaardt (capt), 2 Lizelle Lee, 3 Anne Bosch, 4 Marizanne Kapp, 5 Lara Goodall, 6 Mignon du Preez, 7 Sinalo Jafta (wk), 8 Nondumiso Shangase, 9 Shabnim Ismail, 10 Ayabonga Khaka, 11 Tumi Sekhukhune

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks


Link Copied