Header Ad

Punjab Will Take Kolkata Exam on its Home Ground

By Ravi - April 01, 2023 12:39 PM

PBKS vs KKR IPL 2023 : The second match of IPL 2023 will be played between Punjab Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. Last season, both Punjab and Kolkata could not qualify for the playoffs.

IS Brinda Cricket Stadium, Mohali: The IPL match is being held after four years at the IS Brinda Cricket Stadium in Mohali. The first match at the stadium will be between Punjab Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders at 3.30 pm on Saturday. Both the teams are adorned with dashing players. Talking about the last season, both the teams could not qualify in the playoffs.

This time there has been a lot of change in both the teams. While Punjab Kings have made Shikhar Dhawan the captain of the team this year, KKR has given the responsibility of captaincy to Nitish Rana due to Shreyas Iyer's injury. Mohali Stadium is the home ground of Kings XI Punjab, players like Arshdeep Singh and Harpreet Brar playing in the team have come out of this ground.

Shikhar Dhawan, Sam Karan, Mathew Team Strength

Talking about Punjab Kings, the team is yet to win a single IPL title. The first blow to the team was in the form of Bairstow, who was ruled out for the entire season due to injury. Matthew Short has been included in his place. Dashing batsman Liam Livingstone and seamer Kagiso Rabada will also miss the match against KKR.

Prabhsimran Singh can be seen opening with Shikhar Dhawan. Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Shah Rukh Khan and the costliest all-rounder in IPL history Sam Curran (18.5 crores) make the team strong. Bowlers like Sikandar Raza, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis and Rishi Dhawan are capable of troubling any batsman.

Shreyas, Shakib and Liton will be missed

Shreyas Iyer injury in KKR and the absence of Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das in the opening match are looking somewhat weak, but still KKR has some players who can turn the tide of the match. Opening can be done by Venkatesh Iyer and Rahmanullah Gurbaz of Afghanistan.

In the middle order, Rinku Singh and Narayan Jagdishan along with captain Nitish Rana make the team strong. All-rounders Andre Russell and Shardul Thakur with bat and ball, Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy with their spin bowling, fast bowlers Umesh Yadav, Lucky Ferguson and Tim Southee make KKR strong with their experience.

Kolkata Knight Riders Have The Upper Hand in The Record

If we talk about both the teams played in IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders have the upper hand in this. So far 30 matches have been played between these two teams. Out of which Knight Riders have won 20 times and Punjab Kings have won 10 times. At the same time, in the last five matches, Kolkata has won three and Punjab has won two matches.

Punjab Kings Team

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shah Rukh Khan, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Rajangad Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingston, Atharva Tayde, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Baltej Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar , Sam Karan, Sikandar Raza, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwat Kavirappa, Shivam Singh, Mohit Rathee and McCue Short.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team

Nitish Rana (c), Vaibhav Arora, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Suyyash Sharma, Andre Russell, David Wiese, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Lucky Ferguson, Tim Southee, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakraborty, Anukul Rai, Rinku Singh , Kulwant Khejroliya, Shakib Al Hasan, Mandeep Singh and Litton Das.

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks