Image Source: X
Why Dasun Shanaka given not out after being run out: The result of the Super 4 match of Asia Cup 2025 played between India and Sri Lanka on Friday was decided in the Super Over. During the match, a moment came which surprised everyone. During Sri Lanka's batting in the Super Over, on the fourth ball, Dasun Shanaka was given out by the umpire off Arshdeep Singh's bowling.
The Sri Lankan batsman immediately took DRS. Meanwhile, Shanaka ran for a run and wicketkeeper Sanju Samson hit the ball straight onto the stumps. Everyone thought he would be run out, but the third umpire declared him not out.
Image Source: X
Everything was going well for India in the Super Over. Arshdeep dismissed Kusal Perera for zero, and on the fourth ball, wicketkeeper Sanju Samson ran out Dasun Shanaka. India only had 3 runs to chase, and Arshdeep Singh had almost completed the task. But Shanaka was not given out.
Also Read: Kya Haris Rauf par lagega ban?
Image Source: X
Actually, Shanaka was deceived by Arshdeep's off-cutter and ran for a run. But Kamindu Mendis denied him, and in the meantime, Sanju Samson ran him out. At that moment, Arshdeep appealed, claiming Shanaka had been caught out by the ball. The umpire agreed with the bowler and raised his finger. This meant Shanaka was caught out, not run out. When Shanaka heard this, he immediately took a review.
The TV umpire checked and found that Shanaka had not touched the ball. Therefore, Sohail had to reverse his decision. This is because, according to ICC rules, the first decision prevails.
Since the decision went to review, the ball was deemed dead and Shanaka was able to continue batting. Had the umpire not given him out, his innings would have ended with a run out. But when he gave out caught, the entire matter hinged on whether Shanaka edged the ball or not.
Image Source: X
Law 20.1.1.3 states, "When a batsman is given out, the ball is considered dead from the moment the dismissal occurs. The ball is considered dead from the moment the dismissal occurs, i.e., the ball reaches the wicketkeeper's gloves. Any subsequent action will be invalid."
Law 3.7.1 states, "If, following a player review, the umpire's decision of out is changed to not out, the ball will still be considered dead from the moment the decision was originally given. That is, the ball is considered dead as soon as it reaches the wicketkeeper's gloves, and the action is complete."
Also Read: Shoaib Akhtar Advises Pakistan Team on How to Beat India in Final
Disclaimer
Possible11 is committed to complying with the Promotion and Regulation of Online Gaming Bill, 2025 in India, which prohibits all forms of real-money online gaming, including betting and fantasy sports. We do not promote, endorse, or engage with any betting apps, fantasy sports platforms, or real-money gaming services. Our platform is actively reviewing and removing all content related to betting and fantasy sports to align with the new regulations. We are transitioning to focus solely on providing sports news, live scores, player stats, and tournament updates for sports fans. All content on our website and app is now intended for informational purposes only. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this transition process.
Give Your Feedback