Header Ad

New Zealand unilaterally won the second Test

By Arjit - March 20, 2023 01:48 PM

NZ vs SL 2nd test

New Zealand beat Sri Lanka by an innings and 58 runs in the second and final Test. With this, New Zealand has made a clean sweep of Sri Lanka 2-0 in the two-match series.

New Zealand beat Sri Lanka by an innings and 58 runs on the fourth day of the second Test on Monday. In the Test played in Wellington, New Zealand had declared at a score of 580/4 after batting first. In response, Sri Lanka's first innings was all out for only 164 runs.

In this way, on the basis of the first innings, New Zealand got a huge lead of 416 runs. Then the Kiwi team forced Sri Lanka to follow on. In the second innings, the Sri Lankan team was all out for 358 runs. In this way, New Zealand won the second test with a huge margin.

With this victory, New Zealand made a 2-0 clean sweep of Sri Lanka in the two-match series. The hosts won the first Test on the last ball.

Sri Lanka innings

Sri Lanka extended their second innings on Monday with a score of 113/2. Kusal Mendis (50) could not add to his yesterday's score and returned to the pavilion by handing a catch to Williamson off Matt Henry. Blair Tickner dealt Sri Lanka another blow when Angelo Mathews (2) was caught by Bracewell.

From here Dinesh Chandimal (62) and Dhananjaya de Silva (98) handled the Sri Lankan innings. Both made a century partnership of 126 runs for the fifth wicket. Meanwhile, both the batsmen completed their half-centuries. Blair Tickner broke the partnership by getting Chandimal caught by Bracewell. Then Dhananjay got the support of Nishan Madushka (39) and both added 76 runs for the sixth wicket.

New Zealand did its name test

Blair Tickner gave the sixth blow to Sri Lanka by getting Nishan out caught by Southee. In the very next over, Michael Bracewell broke Sri Lanka's back by getting Dhananjaya out caught by Nicholls. Silva missed his century. He scored 98 runs in 185 balls with the help of 12 fours and a six. The Sri Lankan team was all out in the next 40 runs and New Zealand won the match.

Tim Southee and Blair Tickner took three wickets each for New Zealand. Michael Bracewell took two wickets. Matt Henry and Doug Bracewell got one success each. Henry Nicholls was adjudged Player of the Match. Kane Williamson was adjudged Player of the Series.

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store