Header Ad

ICC Hall of Fame List: Virender Sehwag inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

By Kaif - November 13, 2023 02:10 PM

Image Source: ICC Web

Virender Sehwag inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Three great cricket players and outstanding performers in the history of cricket have been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. These include Indian opener Virender Sehwag, former Indian women's Test captain Diana Edulji and former Sri Lankan batsman Aravinda de Silva. The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the names of the three legends as the latest inductees of the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

Sehwag, counted among the destructive opening batsmen of modern cricket, has achieved many big achievements in his career. He is the first Indian player to score a triple century in Test. Sehwag scored triple century in Test twice. During his illustrious career, he scored 23 Test centuries. He is at fifth place among Indian players in terms of scoring most centuries in this format.

ICC Hall of Fame List



Image Source: ICC Web

Sehwag's highest score in Test is 319 runs. This is the highest score by an Indian in Test. Sehwag scored 319 runs against South Africa in Chennai in 2008. Overall, Sehwag has 8586 runs in his name in 104 test matches. He has scored runs at an average of 49.34. Sehwag has scored 8273 runs in 251 ODIs at an average of 35.05. He is a member of the team that won the T20 World Cup in 2007 and the ODI World Cup in 2011. Sehwag scored 380 runs in the 2011 World Cup.


Image Source: ICC Web

Edulji, the second inductee into the ICC Hall of Fame, captained India for almost three decades and took a total of 109 wickets in 54 international matches as a left-arm orthodox spinner. Edulji took up the role of administrator in Western Railways and worked hard to create employment opportunities for women cricketers. He also played an influential role in formulating the sports policy of Western and Indian Railways.

Edulji said, "First of all I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for choosing me to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame 2023. It is indeed a great honor to be the first Indian woman cricketer to be inducted. It is a great honor for the BCCI and the Indian It's a proud moment for women's cricket too."


Image Source: ICC Web

The third player inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame is Aravinda de Silva, who won the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup with Sri Lanka in 1996. The Sri Lankan batsman was known for his consistency. He scored 20 Test centuries during an international career spanning 18 years. His expertise with the bat was not limited to the red ball format. He has 11 centuries to his name in white ball cricket. Aravinda de Silva scored 6361 runs in 93 test matches at an average of 42.97. Talking about ODI, he participated in 308 matches and scored 9284 runs at an average of 34.90.

Also Read: Henry Nicholls faces ball-tampering charges

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store