Header Banner

Asia Cup 2022 Complete Details Of Sri Lanka Squad All You Need To Know About

The Sri Lankan cricket team is the national cricket team of Sri Lanka. The team is administered by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC). Sri Lankan team was eighth team to get the test status in ICC.
The team won the world cup of 1996 co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. It was also runners up in the Cricket World Cup 2007 and Twenty20 World Cup of 2009. Sri Lankan team is the only team to have been featured in each final match of Asia cup since 1984. It has won Asia cup for 4 times while remained runners up in the remaining 6 finals.

SL ASIA CUP 2022 Team

Sri Lanka Full Squad

SL Captain

Dasun Shanaka – Captain

Pathum Nissanka

Kusal Mendis

Charith Asalanka – VC

Dinesh Chandimal

Danushka Gunathilaka

Kamil Mishara

Janith Liyanage

Wanindu Hasaranga

Chamika Karunaratne

Nuwan Thushara

Lahiru Kumara

Binura Fernando

Shiran Fernando

Maheesh Theekshana

Jeffrey Vandersay

Sri lankan Dominance In Asia Cup

After India Sri lanka is the most succesfull country in Asia Cup. They totally dominated the tournament India has also won the most 7 Asia Cup titles so far. Sri Lanka comes next with 5 titles while Pakistan has won 2 titles. They are also the only team to feature in 13 editions of the tournament whereas, India, Pakistan and Bangladesh have featured only in 12 editions. Sri Lanka’s recent win came in 2014 where they defeated Pakistan in the final.

Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup results:

Champions: (1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014)

Why Venue of Asia Cup 2022 Shifted From Sri Lanka To UAE?

Sri Lanka was initially named as the host of the tournament. The Board had to wait until this month to take the decision regarding the venues as Sri Lanka are currently facing economic and political crisis. After a brief meeting, ACC had decided to move the venue to the UAE while Sri Lanka retained the hosting rights.
All the matches will be played in two venues- Dubai and Sharjah. Dubai will host most of the matches including the final of the tournament.

Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka Schedule

Sri Lanka are placed in Group B alongside Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The team will begin their title quest on 27th August, Saturday. They will be playing their both matches in Dubai.

Asia Cup 2022 Complete Matches Details, Venues, Timings, Day,and Group Matches

The wait is finally over as the battle for Asian supremacy commences on 27th August with the all-important final on 11th September. The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will serve as ideal preparation ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup.

Match Day Date Teams Group Venue Time PM
1 Saturday 27th Aug SL vs AFG Group-B Dubai 07:30
2 Sunday 28th Aug IND vs PAK Group-A Dubai 07:30
3 Tuesday 30th Aug BAN vs AFG Group-B Sarjah 07:30
4 Wednesday 31th Aug Ind vs HK Group-A Dubai 07:30
5 Thursday 1st sept SL vs BAN Group-B Dubai 07:30
6 Friday 2nd sept PAK vs HK Group-B Sarjah 07:30
7 Saturday 3rd sept B1 vs B2 Super-4 Sarjah 07:30
8 Sunday 4th sept A1 vs A2 Super-4 Dubai 07:30
9 Tuesday 6th sept A1 vs B1 Super-4 Dubai 07:30
10 Wednesday 7th sept A2 vs B2 Super-4 Dubai 07:30
11 Thursday 8th sept A1 vs B2 Super-4 Dubai 07:30
12 Friday 9th sept B1 vs A2 Super-4 Dubai 07:30
13 Sunday 11th sept Final [1st super 4 vs 2nd super 4} Dubai 07:30

FAQ regarding India Asia Cup 2022

Download the app for Free Giveaways and more features.

Footer Banner